Minutes of the Regular Meeting of the Board of Education of Prairie Spirit School Division No. 206 held in the Prairie Spirit School Division Office, on Monday, November 7, 2016, commencing at 11:00 a.m.

**Present for the meeting were Board Members:** Larry Pavloff, Chairperson; Sam Dyck, Vice Chairperson; Dawne Badrock; Ken Crush; Garth Hetterly; Bonnie Hope; Bernie Howe; George Janzen; Trina Miller (left at 2:22 p.m.); and Pam Wieler.

**Also in attendance:** John Kuzbik, Director of Education; Lionel Diederichs, Chief Financial Officer; Bob Bayles; Superintendent of Human Resources; Brenda Erickson, Communications Consultant; and Nadine Meister, Assistant to the Director.

Absent: William Badger; Kimberly Greyeyes.

	John Kuzbik called the public meeting to order at 11:06 a.m.		
	New Board members, Garth Hetterly and Trina Miller, signed declarations of office at this organizational meeting.	2	
1.	John Kuzbik called for nominations for Chairperson. George Janzen nominated Larry Pavloff. After third call, Bernie Howe moved nominations cease.	Carried.	<u>Chairperson</u>
	Board member, Larry Pavloff, was declared elected as Chairperson for the Board of Education. Larry Pavloff assumed the role of Chair.		
2.	Larry Pavloff called for nominations for Vice Chairperson. Pam Wieler nominated Sam Dyck. After third call, Bernie Howe moved nominations cease.	Carried.	Vice <u>Chairperson</u>
	Board member, Sam Dyck, was declared elected as Vice Chairperson for the Board of Education.		

# 3. THAT the Board approve the slate of committees for 2016/17 as follows pending Trustees' acceptance:

#### **BOARD COMMITTEES**

Advocacy Committee Garth Hetterly Bonnie Hope Bernie Howe Trina Miller

Board Education Committee Garth Hetterly Bernie Howe George Janzen

CUPE/Out of Scope Support Staff Agreements Committee Dawne Badrock Ken Crush Larry Pavloff

Discipline Committee Larry Pavloff Bernie Howe Board Trustee from the area involved

Home-Based Educators (HBE) Liaison Committee George Janzen Trina Miller Pam Wieler

Indemnity Review Committee Ken Crush Garth Hetterly Bernie Howe

Local Implementations Negotiating Committee (LINC) Dawne Badrock Ken Crush George Janzen

Martensville High School (MHS) Renovation Committee Sam Dyck Bonnie Hope

P3 Building Projects Committee Sam Dyck Bonnie Hope George Janzen Larry Pavloff Partnership Committee Trina Miller Pam Wieler

#### **Policy Review Committee**

Sam Dyck Bonnie Hope George Janzen Larry Pavloff

Senior Administration Compensation Committee Sam Dyck Ken Crush Larry Pavloff

STAFF COMMITTEES

Administrator Hiring Committee Sam Dyck Larry Pavloff Pam Wieler

Professional Support (Calendar) Committee Ken Crush Bernie Howe Trina Miller

Transportation Review Committee Dawne Badrock Garth Hetterly Bernie Howe

EXTERNAL COMMITTEE INVITATIONS Saskatoon Regional Growth Committee Sam Dyck Garth Hetterly Bonnie Hope George Janzen

Central Valley Athletic Conference (CVAC) Representatives George Janzen Pam Wieler

Public Section Representative Bonnie Hope Pam Wieler (alternate)

## Carried.

The Indemnity Review Committee will review current indemnity rates by March 2017 and report to the Board on April 10, 2017.

- 4. THAT the Board set indemnity rates as per Board Operations Policy No. BO-8
   Indemnity

   (this reflects no increase):
   Rates

   8. Board members shall be reimbursed expenses for all Board and committee meetings attended,
   Howe
  - as well as any meeting attended at the direction of the Board based on the following guidelines.
    - 8.1. Board indemnities shall be reimbursed at the following rates:

<u>Committees</u> Wieler

- 8.1.1. \$275/Board meeting for Board Chair:
- 8.1.2. \$247.50/Board meeting for Board Vice Chair; and
- 8.1.3. \$220/Board meeting for Board members.
- 8.2. Any official Board activity or committee meeting attended by a Board member shall be reimbursed at the following rates:
  - 8.2.1. \$137.50/4 hours or portion thereof for Board Chair
  - 8.2.2. \$123.75/4 hours or portion thereof for Board Vice Chair; and
  - 8.2.3. \$110/4 hours or portion thereof for Board members.
- 8.3. Expenses shall be reimbursed as follows:
  - 8.3.1. Travel allowance shall be paid at a rate of \$0.41 per kilometer. The rate will remain in effect unless the rate is greater than or less than a factor of 5% of the Public Service Commission rates that are published October 1<sup>st</sup> and April 1<sup>st.</sup>
  - 8.3.2. The Board will review the rate at its next meeting following the publishing of the Public Service Commission rates if the rate differential is greater than 5% of the current fixed rate.
  - 8.3.3. Out of pocket expenses must be supported by receipts, unless expense is \$20 or less with reason stated.
- 8.4. Travel time shall be reimbursed at a rate of \$11/hour.
- 8.5. Base meeting preparation allowance for each Board member shall be claimed at a rate of \$100/month.
- 8.6. Base annual allowance of \$5,000 shall be paid to the Board Chair over a ten-month period from September to June.
- 8.7. The Canadian Consumer Price Index will be applied to all indemnity rates (excluding travel allowance) effective February 1 of each year.

#### Carried.

2016/17

Meeting Dates Badrock

# 5. THAT the Board affirm the remaining 2016/17 meeting dates as outlined below:

- Monday, November 21, 2016
- Monday, December 5, 2016
- Monday, December 19, 2016
- Monday, January 9, 2017
- Monday, January 23, 2017
- Strategic Planning Workshop Saturday-Monday, January 28-30, 2017
- Monday, February 13, 2017
- Monday, February 27, 2017
- Monday, March 6, 2017

- Monday, March 20, 2017
- Monday, April 10, 2017
- Monday, April 24, 2017
- Monday, May 1, 2017
- Monday, May 15, 2017
- Annual Meeting of Electors Thurs., May 25, 2017
- Monday, June 5, 2017
- Monday, June 19, 2017

### Carried.

Ken Crush and Garth Hetterly expressed an interest in serving on the Prairie Spirit Schools Foundation Board of Directors.

The meeting adjourned for lunch at 11:55 a.m.

The meeting reconvened at 12:39 p.m.

6. THAT the agenda be adopted as presented.		<u>Agenda</u> Howe
	Carried.	
7. THAT the minutes of October 17, 2016, be adopted as presented.		<u>Minutes</u> Hope
	Carried.	
8. THAT the Board grant an excused absence to Ken Crush for today's meeting.		Excused <u>Absence</u> Dyck
	Carried.	
9. THAT the Board approve the 2017/18 Relocatable Classroom Program Application for submission to the Ministry of Education.	I	Relocatables <u>2017/18</u> Wieler
	Carried.	
10. THAT the Board authorize Larry Pavloff to be representative to pick up the SSBA ballots and distribute the ballots as outlined on the ballot list submitted to the SSBA.		SSBA <u>Ballot Form</u> Wieler
	Carried.	
Lionel Diederichs briefly reviewed both the Quarterly Financial Statement as at May 31, 2016, and the draft Financial Statements as at August 31, 2016.		
11. THAT the Board accepts the Quarterly Financial Report as at May 31, 2016, as presented.		Quarterly Financial <u>Statement</u>
	Carried.	Howe
The Board reported on activities and meetings attended since the last Board meeting.		
Trina Miller left the meeting at 2:22 p.m.		
12. THAT the meeting be adjourned at 2:30 p.m. The next meeting to be held on Monday, November 21, 2016, at 4:30 p.m., at the Prairie Spirit School Division Office, in Warman.		<u>Adjourn</u> Pavloff
	Carried.	