Minutes of the Regular Meeting of the Board of Education of Prairie Spirit School Division No. 206 held in the Prairie Spirit School Division Office, on Monday, May 2, 2016, commencing at 11:00 a.m.

**Present for the meeting were Board Members:** Sam Dyck, Vice Chairperson; Dawne Badrock; Ken Crush; Deanna Greyeyes; Bonnie Hope; Bernie Howe; George Janzen; and Keith Wagner.

**Also in attendance:** John Kuzbik, Director of Education; Jim Shields, Chief Financial Officer; Bob Bayles, Superintendent of Human Resources; Brenda Erickson, Communications Consultant; and Nadine Meister, Assistant to the Director.

**Guests present:** Lori Jeschke, Learning Superintendent; Diane Kendall and Dave Carter, Coordinators (all joined at 11:00 a.m.; all left at 11:40 a.m.); Susan Protz, Coordinator; Julie Mutch, Speech Language Pathologist; Holly Kruger, Registered Psychologist; Marnya Sokul, Occupational Therapist (all joined at 11:45 a.m.; Protz & Sokul left at 12:12 p.m.; Kruger & Mutch left at 12:30 p.m.); Bill Steckler, Conveyance Manager (joined at 12:55 p.m.; left at 1:25 p.m.)

**Absent:** Larry Pavloff; Shantelle Watson; and Pam Wieler.

Sam Dyck acted as Chairperson in Larry Pavloff's absence and called the public meeting to order at 11:00 a.m.

Lori Jeschke, Learning Superintendent; Diane Kendall and Dave Carter, Coordinators; all joined the meeting at 11:00 a.m.

1. THAT the agenda be adopted as presented.

<u>Agenda</u>

Howe

Carried.

2. THAT the minutes of April 18, 2016, be adopted as presented.

Minutes

Crush

Carried.

3. THAT the Board grant an excused absence for today's meeting to Pam Wieler.

Excused

<u>Absence</u>

Wagner

Carried.

Lori Jeschke, Dave Carter & Diane Kendall reviewed the Safe and Caring Schools Report. Lori highlighted lockdown and hold and secure procedures. Diane Kendall highlighted the Community Threat Assessment Protocol partnership. Dave Carter highlighted arrangements made for students who are unable to attend our schools for various reasons.

Lori Jeschke, Dave Carter and Diane Kendall left the meeting at 11:40 a.m.

The decision report regarding communication systems renewal was reviewed during Committee of the Whole. A new system that will meet emergency response and preparedness plans is required and having one system would simplify maintenance. The Board indicated support for this direction and also supports Administration contacting the Ministry of Education to determine financing options.

4. THAT the Board accept the Staffing Report as at April 30, 2016, as presented by Administration.

Staffing Report Greyeyes

## Carried.

Jim Shields presented the decision report regarding a request from the R.M. of Corman Park for an abatement of 2015 taxes for Kevin & Marguerite Wiggins in the amount of \$3,237.15.

5. THAT the Board approve the request from the R.M. of Corman Park for the abatement of 2015 taxes for Kevin & Marguerite Wiggins in the amount of \$3,237.15

R.M. of
Corman Park
Crush

## Carried.

Susan Protz, Coordinator; Marnya Sokul, Occupational Therapist; Holly Kruger, Registered Psychologist; and Julie Mutch, Speech Language Pathologist; all joined the meeting at 11:45 a.m.

Marnya Sokul, Julie Mutch and Holly Kruger highlighted for the Board how *My Prairie Spirit Classroom* has led to Learning Support Services developing their own learning role and changing how they support school teams in the classroom to meet student outcomes.

The Board adjourned for lunch at 12:12 p.m. Susan Protz and Marnya Sokul left the meeting at 12:12 p.m.

Julie Mutch and Holly Kruger left the meeting at 12:30 p.m.

Bill Steckler joined the meeting at 12:55 p.m.

The meeting reconvened at 12:55 p.m.

Jim Shields reviewed new Administrative Procedure No. 809 – Transportation Review Committee. This procedure would see the creation of a Transportation Review Committee to hear various transportation requests that currently come to the Board. Two Trustees would serve as members of the Transportation Review Committee.

6. THAT the Board appoint Dawne Badrock and Bernie Howe to the Transportation Review Committee as per Administrative Procedure No. 809.

Transportation Review <u>Committee</u> Crush

Carried.

Bill Steckler left the meeting at 1:25 p.m.

In light of the vacancy in Subdivision No. 8, the Board agreed to temporarily reassign schools in Subdivision No. 8 until the October 2016 school board elections as follows:

- Aberdeen Composite School Sam Dyck
- Allan Composite School Dawne Badrock
- Colonsay School Dawne Badrock
- Riverview Colony School George Janzen

Sam Dyck and Deanna Greyeyes will attend the Warman Environmental Master Plan Pre-Stakeholder meeting on May 11.

George Janzen and Pam Wieler will attend the SHSAA AGM being held on June 22-24, 2016, in Saskatoon.

Ken Crush will attend the SSBA Trustee Academy on May 25-26, 2016, in Cypress Hills, SK.

The Indemnity Review Committee recommends no changes to current indemnity rates when Board Operational Policy BO-8 is reviewed at the November 2016 organizational meeting.

The Board reported on activities and meetings attended since the last Board meeting.

Board members will forward comments regarding the SSBA Position Statements to Nadine Meister for collation. This item will be tabled until the next Board meeting on May 16, 2016.

| 7. | THAT the meeting be adjourned at 2:25 p.m. The next meeting to be held on |
|----|---|
|    | Monday, May 16, 2016, at 4:30 p.m., at the Prairie Spirit School Division |
|    | Office, in Warman.  |

Adjourn Dyck

Carried.

| Chairperson | Secretary to the Board |
|-------------|------------------------|