Minutes of the 7th Annual Meeting of the Board of Education of the Prairie Spirit School Division No. 206 held in the Gymnasium of Langham Elementary School, 102 First Avenue, Langham, SK, on Tuesday, May 6, 2013, commencing at 7:00 p.m.

1. Call or Order

John Kuzbik, Director of Education, called the meeting to order at 7:00 p.m. He welcomed everyone and expressed gratitude to Langham Elementary School Principal, Laura Prefontaine, and staff for hosting tonight's meeting.

2. Election of Chair

John Kuzbik called for nominations for Chair of the Meeting. Sam Dyck nominated Ken Crush as Chair. Keith Wagner moved nominations cease.

Secretary for Meeting
 Ken Crush called for nominations for Secretary of the Meeting. Pam Wieler
 nominated Nadine Meister. Keith Wagner moved nominations cease.
 Carried.

4. Adoption of Agenda

Bernie Howe moved adoption of agenda.

5. Adoption of Minutes of 2012 Annual General Meeting

Keith Wagner moved adoption of the minutes of the 2012 Annual General Meeting.

6. Reports

Board Chair – Larry Pavloff

- Acknowledged all staff for the work that they do for the students in Prairie Spirit School Division.
- Highlighted Board's role in advocacy with the Ministry of Education and other provincial government officials.
- Highlighted the Da Vinci Project (Practical and Applied Arts project) and the Employment and Financial Management Skills program.

Director of Education Report – John Kuzbik

- Highlighted the new the mission and vision statement and Learning for Life framework.
- First Nations and Metis graduation rates as being amongst the highest in the province.
- We exist for one reason only...to support students. Learners without limits encourage us and our students to take risks.

2011/12 Audited Financial Reports – Jim Shields

• Reviewed the financial statements as at August 31, 2012.

7. Adoption of Reports

Cathy Taylor moved adoption of reports.

Carried.

Carried.

Carried.

Ken Crush opened the floor to questions. Larry Pavloff took this opportunity to recognize past Board member, Joan Heath, for her commitment to Prairie Spirit.

8. Presentations

- Learning Improvement Plan Laura Prefontaine, Langham Elementary School – highlighted how focus has shifted from math to reading, utilizing a variety of philosophies and baseline data. We wanted to make a difference in each and every child in our school.
- Graduate Student Karlene Denis, Graduate of Aberdeen Composite School – spoke about how staff and school experience at Aberdeen Composite prepared her for the future after graduation. Denis stated you can never be truly prepared for the future, but her education and the school staff provided her with the tools and knowledge to pursue it.
- Learning Improvement Plan Clay Kirby, Principal, and Brett Berry, Vice Principal, Hague High School – highlighted school goal to increase student engagement in both Math and English. Kirby stated we wanted quantitative proof...until we win their hearts.
- Prairie Spirit Board Award of Excellence Board Chair Larry Pavloff presented the first Prairie Spirit Board Award of Excellence to Delisle Composite School student, Robyn Murphy. This award has been designed to recognize the extraordinary and heroic efforts of staff and students. Robyn Murphy was recognized for her leadership displayed during the tragic incident involving the death of bus driver Deb Harasyn on March 18, 2013. Six more awards will be presented to the following Prairie Spirit staff involved in this same incident at a separate event at Delisle Composite School:
 - Principal Kirk Schlosser
 - Vice Principal Len Jeffries
 - o Teacher Edla Landry
 - Educational Associate Lauralee McElwee
 - Bus Driver Dana Norris
 - \circ Bus Driver Leslie Cross

9. New Business

Ken Crush called for new business. There being none, a motion was made to adjourn the meeting.

10. Adjourn

Keith Wagner moved the meeting be adjourned.

Carried.

The meeting adjourned at 8:07 p.m.