Minutes of the Regular Meeting of the Board of Education of the Prairie Spirit Division No. 206 held in the Prairie Spirit School Division Office on Monday, May 1, 2006 commencing at 9:00 a.m.

Present for the meeting were Board Members Andrew Bergen, Sam Dyck, Norbert Hirschkorn, Harold Klassen, Merla McIntyre, Larry Pavloff, Cathy Taylor, Darrel Wiebe, Gerald Yausie, Evelyn Novak, Director of Education; Jim Shields, Superintendent of Finance and Administration; Craig Schellenberg, Principal, Stobart High; Curt Chaplin, Vice Principal, Stobart High; Elaine Borden-Ballard, Principal, Hague Elementary; Garth Harrison, Vice Principal, Hague Elementary; Bob Braybrook, Principal, Aberdeen School; David Crowell, Principal, Delisle Composite; Len Jeffries, Vice Principal, Delisle Composite; Superintendents of Schools and Learning: Sharon Compton, Bill Macfarlane, Linda Tunney, Heather Shockey, and Sherri Stephanson.

Absent: Natalie Keewatin

Chairperson Klassen called the meeting to order at 9:00 a.m.

1. Agenda

Wiebe That the agenda be adopted as amended.

Carried.

2. Minutes

Yausie That the April 3, 2006 minutes be adopted as circulated.

Carried.

3. 21st Century

Learning Initiative

Dyck

To write a letter to the Minister of Learning to convey our support for Sask Learning's sponsorship of the 21st Century Learning Initiative in Saskatchewan to enhance the relevance of high school education.

Carried.

Craig Schellenberg, Principal, Stobart High; Curt Chaplin, Vice Principal, Stobart High; Elaine Borden-Ballard, Principal, Hague Elementary; Garth Harrison, Vice Principal, Hague Elementary; Bob Braybrook, Principal, Aberdeen School; David Crowell, Principal, Delisle Composite; Len Jeffries, and Vice Principal, Delisle Composite presented a report to the Board on their schools.

Board recessed at 10:15 to 10:30

Carrol Loewen and Farzad Bawanni presented a report to the board.

Harold Klassen presented an award to Bob Braybrook in recognition for being awarded the Principal of the Year from CAP.

The board recessed at 12:10 p.m. The board reconvened at 1:00 p.m.

4. <u>Budget</u> Hirschkorn That we approve the budget plan as presented by Administration for the eight month period, January 1, 2006, to August 31, 2006.

Carried.

5. <u>Millrates</u> Yausie

That in the area known formally as the Saskatoon (East) School Division a mill rate of 18.70 mills be levied against the property assessable for school purposes for the Board of Education of Prairie Spirit School Division No. 206 of Saskatchewan for the year 2006 according to Section 285 of The Education Act 1995;

That in the area known formally as the Saskatoon (West) School Division a mill rate of 21.30 mills be levied against the property assessable for school purposes for the Board of Education of Prairie Spirit School Division No. 206 of Saskatchewan for the year 2006 according to Section 285 of The Education Act 1995; and

That in the area known formally as the Saskatchewan Valley School Division a mill rate of 18.50 mills be levied against the property assessable for school purposes for the Board of Education of Prairie Spirit School Division No. 206 of Saskatchewan for the year 2006 according to Section 285 of The Education Act 1995;

Carried.

Request for Land Transfer

Howe

That we support the request of Caley Voth for the transfer of land into the Sunwest School Division.

Carried.

7. Osler School

Tender Bergen

That we award the tender for the Osler project tender to Kim Construction.

Carried.

Bernie Howe left the meeting at 2:20 p.m.

8. <u>B-1</u> <u>Application</u> Hirschkorn That the Board submit a B-1 Application to Saskatchewan Learning for funding consideration for renovation addition at Stobart Elementary and High School. Application.

Carried.

9. <u>Division Office</u>

<u>Renovation</u>

Klassen That we award the construction management contract for the division office renovation and

addition to Janzen Steel Buildings.

Carried.

10. Closed Session

Dyck That the Board go into closed session at 2:42 a.m.

Carried.

Norbert Hirschkorn left the meeting at 2:50 p.m.

5	Closed Session-End	That the Deand recovers its require	and a time and 2010 and an
	Bergen	That the Board resume its regular meeting at 3:10 p.m.	
12	<u>Adjourn</u> Dyck		Carried.
-		That the meeting be adjourned at 3:31 p.m. Next meeting to be held on May 19, 2006 at the Prairie Spirit School Division Office in Warman at 10:00 a.m.	
		Wallian at 10.00 a.m.	Carried.
		Chairperson	Superintendent of Finance and Administration